Maintaining a backup and restore of your Store Database is not only a
good practice but a real necessity. Backing up the database allows
recovery of the database either partially or totally in case of an
operating system, software, hardware failure or human mistakes. These
can damage or make the database inoperative and the data inaccessible.
The backup and restore Wizard gives you the ability to configure possible database restore scenarios. You can:
- Backup entire database,
- - Backup product related tables only,
- - Restore from backup,
- - Restore default database with initial data.
Database Backup and Restore can be accessed through Tools menu.
To make Database Backup enter Database Backup/Restore Wizard:
- Select which action you wish to perform: Backup entire database or Backup product related tables only.
- Specify a file for your DB backup to be saved in.
- Select the tables you wish to backup. In this case if you have
chosen Backup entire database all tables would be checked, if you have
chosen Backup product related tables only only corresponding tables
would be checked, but you can check or uncheck them all by yourself.
Restore from backup or Restore default database with initial data
There is also a possibility to save only database structure
(tables with no data). If you wish to select Copy Create Statements,
such SQL statements will be saved in the backup file.
Attention! By clicking "Next >" Button you're saving the script into the file selected before.
- On the next page you're able to preview it and in case you need a backup with some different settings - run the Wizard again.
To make Database Restore enter Database Backup/Restore Wizard:
- Select which action you wish to perform: Restore from backup or Restore default database with initial data.
Specify a file for your DB backup to be Restored from.
Preview the script you wish to Restore from. Also there is a
possibility to clear current database before restoring. Force Clear DB
option excludes this possibility that some current database data not
mentioned in the script stays as is.
Attention! By clicking "Next >" Button you're making restore from file selected before.
On the next page you're able to check all errors occured during script extraction.
After the database is restored from a backup image, it will only
allow users to access the data available at the time the backup image
was taken. All the database changes made from that point on are lost.
By eMagicOne Inc.